Connect Business Magazine

Since 1994: The Magazine for Growing Businesses in Southern Minnesota

BPOY Award


Nominations for the 14th Annual Business Person of the Year award are CLOSED

Nominate a colleague and see them featured on the cover of Connect Business Magazine’s January 2017 issue. All nominations are confidential.

Fill out the entry form below by September 30, 2016. Three important rules: You can’t nominate yourself; the nominated person must work and live in either Blue Earth, Le Sueur, Martin, Brown, Watonwan, Waseca, Faribault, Sibley or Nicollet County; and the nominated person must not have appeared in a major Connect Business Magazine feature from 2014-16.

How the winners are selected

Connect Business Magazine will learn more about the nominees, and forward the information on to our judges, who are Minnesota State University business professors. Each judge will have up to three votes: five points will be awarded for their first choice, three for second, and one for third. The top vote-getter will appear on our January 2017 cover, and the two runners-up will appear inside the magazine. Judges will take into consideration the person’s character, leadership abilities, community involvement, and business results. Business persons from any business — large or small, profit or nonprofit, large town or small — are eligible.


Previous Winners:

2017: Todd Reiman – MTU Onsite Energy

2016: Tom Ahern – Capstone/Coughlan Companies

2015: Steve VanRoekel – Ridley

2014: Mike Pinske – AmeriCare Mobility Van

2013: Wayne Kahler – Kahler Automation

2012: Dan & Angie Bastian – Angie’s Kettle Corn

2011: John Roise – Lindsay Window & Door

2010: Pamela J. Year – MRCI

2009: John Finke – HickoryTech

2008: Jeff Thom – All American Foods

2007: Roxie Mell-Brandts – Jensen Transport

2006: Bob Weerts – Blue Valley Sod

2005: Milt Toratti – Riverbend Center for Enterprise Facilitation

2004: Lorin Krueger – Winland Electronics